5 tips for beginning poets–guest blog post by Rachel VanCuren

Trish Hopkinson

I’m a beginner at many things.

For instance, I’m a beginner at traveling and cooking and although I’ve been trying to learn Spanish for over three years now, it seems like I’m a beginner at that, too. I’m also a beginner at writing poetry. I started writing poetry when I was in a class at my university. I was reading Sylvia Plath and Robert Frost when I found words of my own.

Since, poetry has been a sacred part of my life. I would write poems in classes, hoping my teachers wouldn’t notice. Class notebooks began to fill with poems and dreams of a writing life. Soon I began to submit my poems to different contests and journals. Rarely did I hear anything back, but there was a thrill in submitting my work.

Over time, I started learning many tips and tricks when submitting poetry. Here are my top five…

View original post 688 more words

Leave a Reply

