Saturday Mix – April 8, 2017

Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

Hello all!

The internet and I have been having not been getting along over the past couple of weeks and I keep losing my connection, of course one of the problems may be simply a communication problem … my OS is still Windows XP and it seems no one supports my OS anymore.  Sigh.

But speaking of communication, I recently saw a fantastic science-fiction film based on a 2002 short story written by Ted Chiang (The Story of Your Life) entitled “Arrival”.  As a polyglot, I’m fascinated with the idea that language can create a new structure in one’s mind to accommodate how we use different languages.  A banal example; in English, speaking of age,  we say we are 25 years old but in Italian we have 25 years.  Often you must to change the way you think in order to make any sense of the different language you’re…

View original post 399 more words

Leave a Reply

