The Writing Reader | Creativity Prompts for Writers, Journalers, Artists and Speakers

Source: The Writing Reader | Creativity Prompts for Writers, Journalers, Artists and Speakers

RonovanWrites #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt #Challenge #144 Wonder&Spy

ronovanwrites

Remember to come back and visit the comments section during the week for your fellow poets entries!

Haiku Poetry Prompt Writing Challenge Useful Links.
Thesaurus: Wonder, Spy.
HowManySyllables.com
Thesaurus.com

Ronovan Writes Haiku Challenge Image 2016

The Guidelines are simple.

  1. Take the two words and write a Haiku. I use Haiku in Englishas my style, which is 5 syllables for the first line, 7 for the second, and 5 for the third, but you can use what you like. The link above has links within it to articles about how to write Haibun, Tanka, and even a new form I created called Freku. You can also do the 3/5/3 form if you likeinstead of the 5/7/5 that I usually use. Write, share, and have fun. For syllable help visit HowManySyllables.com. (You would be surprised at how many syllables some words actually have.)
  2. The two words can be used as you…

View original post 397 more words

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers 4-10-2017

A Writer's Life

photo-20170206154748327photo-20170403154705794

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Yarnspinner. 

Guide for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

1. A prompt photo will be provided each Tuesday to be used as a base to your story. Please include photo prompt with your story.

2. Linking for this challenge begins on Tuesday and runs to the following Monday evening.

3. Please credit photo to photographer.

4. The story word limit is 100 – 150 words (+ – 25 words). Please try to stay within this limit.


The thing had to have come from here, according to Becky, and what better place to birth a monster? The lingering scent of smoke filled his nostrils, fire out but not forgotten.

Did he believe in monsters? No, not really. All the monsters he’d ever feared had been childhood monstosities under his bed or inside his closet.

Did he want to be here?…

View original post 97 more words

How to be a good writer with style? Learn from a successful one.

Here’s another one on great writers.

Have you found your style? 

I’ll confess right up front, I’ve struggled with voice and style since I began writing. Writing as myself, sounding like me and hoping people enjoy it seems at odds. After all, my mind is a mystery to myself, so how in the world could I expect anyone else to understand my thoughts.

Forgive the rambling. Sometimes I get carried away.

Now back to writing with style.

StumbleUpon is becoming one of my favorite places to find great reading on the craft of writing. Once again I stumbled upon an article about Kurt Vonnegut and his tips on writing with style.

Vonnegut: How To Write With Style by Eli James

In this article, Eli James lists seven things to help a writer zero in on their style.

Here are my thoughts:

  1. Find a subject you care about
    • Now I care about…

View original post 267 more words