Rhubarb Cobbler

MSnubutterflies

I’m not much for sweets but every 3 years or so I get a craving for Rhubarb cobbler. My Grandmother and my mom made the best rhubarb pies. This was my grandpa’s favorite. My grandma made the most beautiful crusts. I learned that from her but to be honest I didn’t want to fuss with all of that.

Cobblers are a great alternative and this one is as simple as it gets.

rhubarb2 (6)

Ingredients

For the filling:

  • 2 16oz.  bags of frozen rhubarb
  • 1 Cup of Sugar ( more if you like it sweeter. I prefer it on the tart side. )
  • 2 T Corn Starch
  • 1 to 1 1/2 Cups of water
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 tsp. Almond Extract (optional)

For the topping:

  • 1 1/2 Cups of flour
  • 2 T. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 Cup of cold butter
  • 2 T.  Shortening
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 T. Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 Cup…

View original post 208 more words

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Cobbler

  1. Thank you for the reblog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

