August 3: Flash Fiction Challenge

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Science. It’s what brought my eldest and her spouse to the Keweenaw, where Michigan Tech has been a public research university since 1885. She’s now Director of Research News, writing and directing science stories for several academic publications, including the university’s research blog, Unscripted.

While I’ve had rocks on the brain since arriving — a common Keweenaw affliction — I’ve been pondering the relationship between arts and science. As a literary artist, science fuels my imagination. Yet science relies as much on creativity as it does data. As a geoscientist and dancer, my daughter understands this dynamic and writes about the intention of Unscripted:

“…This is a place where metaphor and methodology meet. Where curiosity inspires conversation, art, and science. We write the research you can’t find on news wires, capture science in action, and speak frankly about the work we do. Often succinct, we’re not afraid…

View original post 1,264 more words

52 week photography project – Week 3: Transport

Deb's World

Source: Week 3: Transport

For those of you playing along at home here is Week 3 of our 52 week photography project.

My photo for Transport was a classic Steam Train arriving in a dramatic puff of steam at Melbourne’s Southern Cross Station on a cold morning.  Did I say it was an early start too?  No? well it was very, very early start for me, as I am getting used to later starts now that I don’t have to get up and go to work, especially on a cold winter’s day.

Steam Train Steam Train

In honour of my daughters’ love of Harry Potter I couldn’t go past this photo from our most excellent day out on the steam train with Steam Rail Victoria. Arriving dramatically at Southern Cross station in a puff of steam, we were transported back in time for the day.

See what I did there with the…

View original post 427 more words

FREE ENTRY Jacopone da Todi Poetry Book Prize + editor interview – Franciscan University Press, DEADLINE: Aug. 31, 2017

Trish Hopkinson

Franciscan University Press is accepting 48-100 page manuscripts during August 2017 for its Jacopone da Todi Poetry Prize.  “We want work which reflects a disciple’s heart.”

I wondered how and why this poetry prize came to be, so I asked editor David Craig a few questions to find out. See my interview with Craig and a link to their submission guidelines below.


HOPKINSON: How/why was Jacopone da Todi Poetry Prize originally started?

CRAIG: I’ve been doing a highly thought of Christian chapbook series at Franciscan U. of Steubenville for many years, so when they re-started up the press they asked me to do a larger series.  I said I would if we’d ask for poems written “with a disciples’ heart.”  (No sense doing the same old stuff.)  Da Todi was a wonderfully strange Franciscan poet, the best known Franciscan one we could think of.  So that’s what we went with.

HOPKINSON:

View original post 118 more words

Gypsy

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

The winds of change blow
Refusal or denial
Sees no horizon

Field scabious…it is not a great name and harks back to the time when the plant was used to treat scabies and the bubonic plague… a tragic history for such a pretty flower. I love their soft, cushioned petals and have always grown them in my gardens for the bees and butterflies. My own garden is a little sparse at present, while life dithers about its future, but it is of no matter. When the fields and hedgerows are full of flowers, I have all the garden I need..

The other name for this flower is the gypsy rose. It is a vagabond, wandering the countryside and growing where it chooses. The breeze makes the stems dance, so I hold the flower steady for a photograph… and an opportunist seizes the moment to land.  Engaging with Nature is a…

View original post 2 more words

Stuffed bell peppers

Recipes by chefkreso

When was the last time you took a moment and looked around yourself, but really looked, with appreciation towards your surrounding, taking in all of the beauty that’s right in front of you? Did you ever feel like walking down the same street which you’ve been walking down for years, maybe ten years or more, and just then you realized that your neighbor has the most beautiful balcony in the street, decorated with all sorts of flowers and plants and herbs? Seems like many of us don’t even see what’s staring us in the face, like it takes a car crash to get our attention, deeply lost in our routines.

DSC_0425

I’ve realized living like that, losing yourself by constantly trying to get in a routine.. and we as people try to do so, we love routines – they’re carefree, you don’t have to worry about any unforseen situations.. isn’t something…

View original post 499 more words